Mon-Fri: 9am - 5pm

9 October 2015  



Group Training Australia WA Inc (GTA WA) has today announced the winners of the 2015 Awards of Excellence in Group Training 2015.The 2015 Awards of Excellence recognise the top apprentices and trainees that are employed by a group training organisation (GTO) in Western Australia and the Host Employers who support the training of apprentices and trainees through group training. The evening was celebrated by 130 people consisting of finalists, guests, industry representatives and Members of Parliament.

Chairman, Stuart Diepeveen said “Group Training is unique by the fact that the apprentice and trainee is employed by the GTO who organises all theory with  on-the job employment and training being provided by  host employers within the industry.

“The 2015 Awards of Excellence event is a celebration of the top young men and women who have committed themselves to achieving excellence in their chosen career.  The judged had a challenging task in selecting the finalists and winners of each of the categories as the level of submissions was very high.

“It is great to see that a cross section of industry was present to celebrate, network and promote the group training model in the state.

“Mr Jan Norberger, MLA Member for Joondalup representing the Premier of Western Australia, The Hon Colin Barnett MLA and Minister for Police; Road Safety; Training and Workforce Development; Women’s Interests the Hon Liza Harvey MLA presented finalists with their certificates and trophies.

2015 School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year was awarded to Tom Warner who is employed by Hospitality Group Training doing a Certificate II in Hospitality Operations.  The award was sponsored by AMA Apprenticeship and Traineeship Services. 

2015 Indigenous Apprentice/Trainee of the Year was awarded to Luke Abdullah who is employed by Apprenticeships Australia doing a Certificate III in Engineering – Fabrication (Heavy Welding).  The award was sponsored by Group Training Australia Ltd.  

2015 Host Employer of the Year was awarded to Aegis Aged Care Group who are host employers with Heath Training Australia Inc.  The award was sponsored by Woodside Energy Ltd.

2015 Trainee of the Year was awarded to Sandra Van Der Gaag employed by Energy Apprenticeships Group/Apprenticeships Australia who has completed a Certificate III in Process Plant Operations. The award was sponsored by AustralianSuper.

2015 Apprentice of the Year was awarded to Emma McDonald employed by Electrical Group Training Ltd who doing a Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician.  The Award was sponsored by AustralianSuper.

Like our Facebook page to see professional photos uploaded in 2 weeks time from the event!/GroupTrainingAustraliaWA 


© Copyright 2020 Apprentice Employment Network (WA) Inc.
Site by Epic IT